This year's golf tournament was the 31st annual in support for our Scholarship Program.  It started off with cloudy skies and a short burst of rain, but the weather calmed down just before the shotgun start at 8:20 a.m.  There were 53 golfers (12 foursomes and 1 fivesome) who played in the tournament.

Tournament Results

The winning teams were:

1st Place:  Joe Woo
                  Taemi Kudinar
                  Manny Hernandez
                  Cecile Hernandez
                  River Li

2nd Place: Willy Yichoy
                  Steve Joh
                  Norm Toy
                  Thomas Tie

3rd Place: Gerrye Wong
                  Phoebe Choy
                  Lippman Choy
                  Joe Wong

4th Place: Ken Louie
                  Frank Louie
                  Steve Pfingsten
                  John Jauretuito

Closest to the Pin

Closest to the Pin Winners

Hole #3:     1st - Steve Pfingsten
                   2nd - John Ow

Hole #5:     1st - Ron Wong
                   2nd - Norm Toy

Hole #13:   1st - Steven Joh
                   2nd - Don Kaefer

Hole #16:   1st - John Jauretuito
                   2nd - Norm Toy

Special Awards

A special prize was given to the team that came in last in the standings but were good sports in supporting our event.  This fearsome foursome included Calvin Wong, Wilson Fong, Paul Char and John Ow.

Award Banquet Luncheon

Afterwards at the banquet luncheon held at the Golden Sun Palace Restaurant in Milpitas, 71 golfers and guests were welcomed by Tournament Director, Victor Gin.  A delicious meal followed of barbecued combination platters, scallop & beef with honey pepper sauce, spare ribs Peking style, seafood with mushroom soup, lobster & salted egg with deep fried three treasure, pea sprouts with mushrooms, steamed live fish, Yang Chow fried rice, and fruit for dessert.


The program also included 11 silent auction items for guests to bid on and over 60 prizes to be raffled off.  By all accounts, the golf tournament, banquet, silent auction, and raffle were very successful and will provide a substantial base for next year's Scholarship Program.